10 Political Trends to Focus On in 2023

Jakub Ferencik
3 min readJan 1, 2023

Last year, I posted a top 10 summary of political trends to follow in the coming year.

I talked about the struggle for Taiwan and the South-China sea. Analysts have long worried about an outbreak of war in the region. 2021 unsurprisingly escalated tensions, but 2022 still surprised most of us.

I also discussed Russian aggression in Ukraine’s Donbas and its rise despite attempts at de-escalation. I questioned, along with a lot of people, NATO’s place in political affairs and whether it was becoming irrelevant in future years. Few of us thought that Putin would be so stupid; he was. And I wrote a lot about the topic, if you are not familiar with my blog, you can check out some of my posts.⁣

It was truly a crazy year. And 2023 is coming at full blast. So, here’s my top 10 list of political trends to follow this coming year.

Photo by Brian Wertheim on Unsplash

This is a short list, but at the end of the post, I have a brief announcement! — I’d love it if you checked it out after finishing the brief list.

So, here’s my list. What’s on yours? Let me know in the comments!

  1. A failed zero-covid policy in China. Xi Jinping’s loss of economic growth and a potential increase in dissatisfaction with the regime?
  2. Biden’s tenure in the US is slowly coming to an end; what will…

--

--

Jakub Ferencik

Journalist in Prague | Author of “Up in the Air,” “Beyond Reason,” & "Surprised by Uncertainty" on AMAZON | MA McGill Uni | 750+ articles with 1+ mil. views